Monday, January 14, 2008

2008 Award Winners

This morning the American Library Association announced its award winners for 2008!

The John Newbery Medal winner is Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village, by Laura Amy Schlitz.

The three Newbery Honor books named are Elijah of Buxton, by Christopher Paul Curtis; The Wednesday Wars, by Gary D. Schmidt; and Feathers, by Jacqueline Woodson.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal winner is The Invention of Hugo Cabret, written and illustrated by Brian Selznick.

The Caldecott Honor books are Henry's Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad, written by Ellen Levine and illustrated by Kadir Nelson; First the Egg, written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain, written and illustrated by Peter Sis; and Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, written and illustrated by Mo Willems.

For more information and many more awards, see the news on the ALA website.

No comments: